The Center for Educational Effectiveness

2016 School of Distinction

School of Distinction 2016

WASA Washington State ASCD

Sustained improvement over a five-year period in English language arts (ELA), math, and graduation rate is the reason for 94 schools across Washington State being recognized with the 2016 School of Distinction award today. These schools represent 51 elementary, 20 middle/junior high, 23 high schools, and 6 alternative schools already included in these numbers. The Center for Educational Effectiveness (CEE) in partnership with the Association of Educational Service Districts (AESD), The Association of Washington School Principals (AWSP), Washington Association of School Administrators (WASA), Washington State School Directors’ Association (WSSDA) and the Washington State Association of Supervision and Curriculum Development (WSASCD), have recognized schools in the top 5% of improvement for their levels. Elementary and middle schools are recognized for sustained improvement in ELA and math achievement. High schools are recognized for sustained improvement in graduation rate over the past five years.

These 94 schools span all regions of the state, from large urban to small rural communities and represent all nine Educational Service Districts (ESD's). Some of the student populations in these schools are as high as 98.5% poverty, and 67% English language learners, as well as high numbers of challenged learners in special education. As Greg Lobdell, CEE CEO and Director of Research states, "Even though the diversity and context of the communities served by each of these schools across our state are vastly different, the hard work represented by this award is the same and the students are the real winners."

For additional information, please contact Marilyn McGuire, CEE Vice President, District and School Improvement:
Phone: (425) 947-5242
Mobile: (206) 818-8239


Articles and Links

ESD101 - Oakesdale MS

ESD123 - Tri City Herald - Paterson Elementary

ESD105 - Yakima Herald, Yakima & Kittitas Schools

ESD112 - KLOG1490 AM RA Long

ESD112 - - RA Long HS

ESD112 - The Columbian - Captain Strong-Green Mtn - Cape Horn - Skye

ESD114 - Sequim SD - Greywolf Elem

ESD121 - Broadview Thomson

ESD121 - Federal Way - TAF Academy

ESD121 - Highline PS - North Hill Elem

ESD121 - Seattle PS - Rainier View Elem

ESD121 - Shoreline Area News

ESD121 - Shoreline PS

ESD121 - Tacoma Four TPS schools

ESD121 - The Des Moines Waterland Blog - Highline North Hill North Elem

ESD121 - The Seattle Times

ESD121 - The Suburban Times - Six Clover Park schools

ESD121 - Tukwila SD - Thorndyke

ESD121 - West Seattle Blog - Congratulations West Seattle

ESD121-Wilson HS


School of Distinction

School of Distinction

School of Distinction

School of Distinction

School of Distinction

School of Distinction